If you are upgrading your website to a new major version of your content management system or moving from a Joomla! site to a Wordpress one, or vice-versa, you may want to copy your nBill data to the new site. This is relatively straightforward, but there are some things you need to bear in mind.

  • If you only have a small amount of data, you can do a backup of your nBill tables using the Backup/Restore feature in nBill, then restore it into your new site. However, this is not a very efficient tool, and cannot handle large database tables. A safer option is to use a dedicated database management tool such as phpMyAdmin to copy the nBill tables.
  • You can copy the nBill database tables from your old website's database to your new site's database (using phpMyAdmin or something similar), making sure that you first replace the database table prefix to match the new site. Export all of the tables whose names start with #__nbill_ (where #__ is your database table prefix) to a text file, then using a text editor (not a word processor), do a search and replace of the database table prefix to change it to the prefix used in your new site's database, and import the data there.
  • You must ensure that the user IDs of your customers are identical in both databases, otherwise people will have access to the wrong invoices. If you do not allow customers to login to your site and view their billing records, this will not be an issue.
  • For the standard edition, your license key is stored in the database, so when you copy the data over, if the new site is running on an address that is not covered by the license key from the old site, you will be prompted to enter your license key again. During a migration, if your old or new site is running on a temporary address, you canĀ order a free trial license key for that address.
  • After copying the data over, and re-entering your license key (if applicable), you need to go to the nBill Global Configuration page, make sure the correct default user group is specified, and click on the 'Save' toolbar button. This is because the group IDs for users might be different from your old site.
  • If you are using the user subscription plugin to grant access to Joomla user groups or Wordpress roles, go to the product editor for any subscription products, make sure the correct user group or role is selected, and click on the 'Save' toolbar button.